Dance Smartly – Canada’s Queen

Here’s another Canadian great I’ve now portrayed twice.  The same year I did the Northern Dancer painting, I donated a painting of Dance Smartly for that year’s Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame fundraiser.  This 14 x 11 oil was based on both my own photos, as well as some supplied to me by the Hall of Fame.  My own photos weren’t the best – taken during her racing days – so I was quite happy to have the additional references.

This year, I had the opportunity to paint this amazing filly again.  When I signed on to be part of the Mural Mosaic project’s Le Cadeau du Cheval/The Horse Gift, I knew I wanted to do something commemorating a Canadian Thoroughbred.  The panel I received was decidedly purple, and after an initial reaction of “What do I do with this?”  I knew I needed to do something related to the Queen’s Plate, with that traditional blanket of royal purple and gold flowers.  Dance Smartly was on the list of horses the organizers wanted to see in the project, and after the loss earlier this year of Tammy Samuel-Balaz and Elizabeth Samuel, it seemed a fitting tribute to some noteworthy Canadian ladies.  The colour of the image of my panel has been altered somewhat on the Mural Mosaic site, so a more accurate depiction can be found on my studio blog post.

Again, while both the originals are no longer available, giclée reproductions can be purchased.  The initial painting is available either on canvas ($150.00) or paper ($95.00) at 14 x 11” as well as a smaller collector print at $30.00.

The decidedly purple Mural Mosaic panel is reproduced at 12.5 x 12.5” on fine art paper for $95.00 or as a smaller collector print for $30.00.  Canvas available by request.

In both cases, the reproductions will be signed by the artist, and 20% of each sale goes to LongRun.  As the initial painting was produced for the Hall of Fame fundraiser, an additional portion will go to that organization.

4 thoughts on “Dance Smartly – Canada’s Queen

  1. Colleen Simeone

    Hi Linda,
    Thanks for sending me the stuff on Kimchi. I am buying a new house and once it goes thur I would like to get a painting of Kimchi, I just need to wait to find out the size.
    I will get back to you,
    Thanks, Colleen

    1. lindashantz

      Glad you got it, Colleen. I’ll look forward to hearing from you. In the meantime, good luck with Street Talk’n! I see he’s at Woodbine now.

  2. Colleen

    Hi Linda,
    Kimchi also has a colt that is running this weekend at woodbine his name is Unbridled Kimanchi he is by Unbridled’s Song. We run under the name Terra Di Sienna Stables. We have a few more up there with Brian A Lynch. We have 3 others running this weekend also. I will get back to you as soon as I know what size I will need thanks for getting back to me.
    Colleen

    1. lindashantz

      Hi Colleen,

      I’ll look out for them. I’m at an art show in Schomberg this weekend or I’d go to the races to see them! Hope it is a successful weekend for you.

      Linda

Leave a Reply

