A Couple of Oaks Winners

I’ve been AWOL from this blog for a while.  Last month I decided to challenge myself to paint a horse a day for thirty days, and I completed my task on Sunday – the 30th!  It was a great adventure, and though hard some days, I had a lot of fun.  I’m planning to sell a number of the paintings and I will be donating part of each sale to LongRun.

Most of my subjects for the month were Thoroughbreds – many of them horses on the farm here.  I did, however, do a few horses I’d photographed at Woodbine.  Among them were 2006 Oaks winner Kimchi, and 2008 Oaks winner Ginger Brew.  Ginger Brew

Ginger Brew is a 6 x 8 oil on Raymar canvas panel head study of the likely Sovereign Award winning 3yo distaff this year.  This painting is sold – thank-you!

Kimchi

Kimchi is a 5 x 7 oil on Raymar canvas panel head study of the ’06 Sovereign Award winning 3yo filly.  This painting is sold – thank you!

7 thoughts on “A Couple of Oaks Winners

  1. lindashantz

    Hi Simeone! I haven’t done any other paintings of her, though if you’re interested I could certainly do another. I’d be more than happy to give you a print of this painting as well if you’d like. Just email me your address if you’re interested!

  2. lindashantz

    Small studies such as these start around $150-200 (5 x 7) and go up from there depending on size and level of detail. And I apologize for getting your name wrong – didn’t see your first name initially! I’ll get a print done for you – might be next week before I get it on its way, as I’m heading to Saratoga this week.

  3. Colleen Simeone

    Thanks! I will think about that one of Kimchi, She looks really good in it, I was thinking of maybe a christmas present for my husband. We will be up at Saratoga sometime during the meet we have some up there getting ready to run. Maybe while you are there keep an eye out for a horse named Street Talkin its a son of Kimchi by Street Cry.

  4. lindashantz

    I will! I’d love to see one of her foals. Who are your horses with there? I usually go in at least one morning and take some photos.

Leave a Reply

